skip navigation

Four Lacrosse Players Lead Team in Academic Awards

Arbes, Doyle, Joseph, Ruffin lead Meredith lacrosse in academic honors

RALEIGH, N.C. -- Four Meredith College lacrosse players were named to the Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association (IWLCA) Division III Academic Honor Roll as announced Monday. Sarah Arbes, Julia Doyle, Carlee Joseph, and Cameron Ruffin led the team as an IWLCA Zag Sports Academic Honor Squad for the third year.

The IWLCA named 339 programs across Divisions I, II, III, and NAIA, who qualified with a team grade point average of 3.0 or higher for the academic year. This marks the second team recognition for the Avenging Angels in the program's five-year history.

The four individual athletes were named to the honor roll as a junior, senior, or graduate student with a 3.50 or higher cumulative grade point average. The IWLCA named 639 student-athletes from 189 Division III institutions.

"The women's lacrosse team had a record book year on the field and in the classroom," said Head Meredith Coach Lauren Scott. "With our highest team GPA to date, these ladies continued to impress and raise the bar."

The Avenging Angels captured the program's fourth USA South Regular Season Championship, fifth consecutive Tournament title, and went on to win the college's first NCAA tournament match to advance to round two in post-season play. Additionally, rising senior midfielder Holly Hite garnered All-American honors, and Joseph was named the Scholar-Athlete of the Year for all of Division III.

"Our approach to the season was to chase excellence with a relentless work ethic;" said Scott. "These ladies did just that on and off the field. I am very proud of this 2018 team as they were a special group."

IWLCA Zag Sports Division III Academic Honor Roll

IWLCA Zag Sports Academic Honor Squads