skip navigation

Athletic Awards Night Celebrates the Angels

Julia Allsbrook, Carlee Joseph

RALEIGH, N.C. -- Thursday evening's Athletic Awards Night, the second in its new format, celebrated much success and dedication from student-athletes, coaches, and staff. Senior softball infielder Julia Allsbrook, the night's emcee, was recognized with the program-wide Dean Burris Student-Athlete Award, and senior lacrosse attack Carlee Joseph collected her second consecutive Athlete of the Year honor.

With input from the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee and help from the college events team, the athletics program adjusted the format of the awards celebration last year to reflect a more modern approach with high energy and a fast pace. The traditional banquet dinner was replaced with a chocolate fountain dessert bar and photo booth. Additionally, Meredith athletics staff established the two new program honors distinguishing the success and character of two student-athletes.

Athletic Director Jackie Myers presented Allsbrook with her honor recognizing a strong commitment to academics, tremendous leadership qualities, and a competitive focus on the field while playing the game the right way. A trusted and respected teammate, Allsbrook always strives to achieve excellence.

Three-time USA South Women's Lacrosse Player of the Year, Joseph led her team to its fifth conference tournament championship and fourth regular season title with hard work, dedication to her teammates, and leadership on the field. She strives daily to be her best self on the field, in the community, and in the classroom.

Sixty-five Avenging Angels were recognized with semester GPAs in the spring and fall 2017 of at least a 3.0 grade point average, and the combined student-athlete roster averaged a 3.31 cumulative average. Ten student-athletes distinguished themselves with 4.0 semester GPAs during the 2017 calendar year.

A host of special awards were presented by each coach after a personalized video shared a glimpse of the dynamics, energy, and history of the team's season. This year's presentation included a live stream of the event available to parents, family members, friends, and fans.

Scholar Athlete - Vice President's Club
Julia Allsbrook
Eran Artigues
Julia Doyle
Ansley Harris
Carlee Joseph
Briana Petrusa
Katie Quinn
Ana Lucia Rodriguez Salazar
Cameron Ruffin
Kimberly Schuh

Sport Awards
Most Valuable Player - Hannah Blaylock
Best Offensive Player - Caroline Corey
Best Defensive Player - Katie Keen
Best Defensive Player - Alexandra Hafliger

Cross Country
Most Valuable Runner - Macy Brinson
Most Determined Runner - Meredith Wyatt
Most Improved Runner - Allie Bucknam

Track & Field
Most Valuable Athlete - Macy Brinson
Most Improved Athlete - Emma Travis
Most Determined Athlete - Alexandra Hafliger

Offensive MVP - Jessica Wallace
Defensive MVP - Kirstie King
Spirit Award - Madison Gladwell

Offensive MVP - Carlee Joseph
Defensive MVP - Cameron Ruffin
Heart & Hustle - Holly Hite

Defensive MVP - Taylor Jackson
Offensive MVP - Maria Annunziata
Jack Huber Softball Award - Alyssa Drake

Impact Player - Chandler Hines
Defensive Award - Meghan Pleasants
Coach's Award - Brittany Preston

Impact Player - Alexandra Cheney
Most Improved Player - Logan King